Trials for National Youth League 2017

04/09/2017 #NationalLeague #Youth

The National Men's Youth League is New Zealand's premier football competition for male footballers born on or after 01 January 1998. The league consists of ten football clubs spread throughout New Zealand, with all teams playing each other once in a single round-robin format. The youth league is administered by New Zealand Football and it runs from mid October through until mid December 2017.

We are based Porritt Stadium and we are the only club from the greater Waikato, Bay of Plenty and Taupo regions with a licence to play in the league. Last year Wanderers won the National Youth League title and seven youth players then went on to make appearances for the Men's National League team. We are looking to further build upon that success and player development this season. As part of this strategy it is Ricki Herbert's (Men's National League team head coach) intention for both the youth and men's team to train together twice a week.

We wish to invite all skilled footballers from within the WaiBOP region to attend our trial matches for the purpose of gaining selection to our National Youth League team. It is envisaged the successful trialists will have been born in 1998, 1999, 2000 or 2001 and will be currently playing for their local school 1st XI or club senior / senior reserve team. Those footballers selected for the final squad will be expected to attend up to three trainings per week at Porritt Stadium in addition to the weekend league matches.

The trial matches will be held on

Sunday 10 September 2017


Sunday 17 September 2017

Hamilton Wanderers Football Club, Porritt Stadium, Crosby Road, Hamilton
Meet at 10:30am for 11:00am start

All football players interested in attending the trial please email Michael Built at

Your email should include the following details:

Date of birth
Preferred playing position(s)
Current team(s)
Telephone number
Email address

Your application to attend the trial should be forwarded to the above email address no later than Friday 08 September 2017.